Gallery

It Was 66 Years Ago Today …

… that I was born. And thus I got some nice birthday cards. Here’s the two I liked most:

birthday

Birthday Cards

I must admit, I really like these “cattily friendly” cards a lot.

And there were presents also, naturally: a paperback edition of the science fiction novels of Hans Dominik, the movie “Bernie” on DVD, and two historical naval novels by Dewey Lambkin, an author previously unknown to me:

birthday

Birthday Presents

“Bernie” and the two novels, all three of which Mary gave me, were quite to my fancy. The fact that the Hans-Dominik-novels arrived to day was an absolute coincidence as I had ordered them a few weeks ago for myself.

And then I also got coffee and wine, again very much to my liking:

birthday

More Birthday Presents

P.S.: I know that it is fishing for compliments, or for birthday congratulations rather, to write about my birthday here, but obviously I couldn’t resist. 😉

  • Bernie (pitstexasexpatblog.wordpress.com)

29 responses to “It Was 66 Years Ago Today …

  1. Happy belated birthday, dear Pit🙂 nachträglich ganz herzliche Glückwünsche zu deinem Ehrentag. Tolle Geschenke hast du bekommen🙂

    Ich grüß dich ganz herzlich, und Greta schickt einen Nasenstupser mit,
    Ocean

    • Danke, liebe Ocean, für Deine Glückwünsche zu meinem Geburtstag, und auch an Greta für den Nasenstubser. 🙂 Kraul sie bitte recht lieb von mir.
      Liebe Grüße aus dem südlichen Texas,
      Pit

  2. Happy birthday. Lovely cards and gifts. Glad you are still with us above the dirt.

  3. Happy belated birthday xxx

  4. Ich las es gerade bei Klaus-Bernd und schließe mich hier den guten Wünschen an: Herzlichen Glückwunsch und ein gutes neues Lebensjahr,
    Franka

  5. Lieber Pit,

    zu deinem Tag zitiere ich gerne Theodor Fontane, dem man diese Worte zuschreibt:

    Kummer, sei lahm! Sorge, sei blind! Es lebe das Geburtstagskind.

    Herzlichen Glückwunsch nach Texas von
    Marion aus der Schweiz

    • Liebe Marion,
      danke für Deine Glückwünsche zu meinem Geburtstag und für das schöne Zitat. 🙂
      Liebe Grüße aus dem südlichen Texas,
      Pit

  6. Happy Birthday to you! Looks like you had a nice day!

  7. Happy belated Birthday!
    Texas says the best ones are born in April😉
    Enjoy the presents!

    • Hi Carine,
      Thanks ever so much for your wishes as to my birthday. 🙂 I didn’t know that saying about the best ones born in April, but I certainly agree! 😉
      Best regards from southern Texas,
      Pit

  8. Herzliche Glückwünsche auch von mir, lieber Pit! Hab einen schönen Tag & lass dich feiern : )

  9. Hi Pit,

    alles Gute wünsche ich Dir (nachträglich? Hast Du heute oder hattest Du gestern? Naja, egal, jedenfalls zeitnah ;))! Möge Dir das neue Lebensjahr Glück, Gesundheit und Freude und alles was Du noch so gebrauchen kannst bringen!

    Liebe Grüße
    ulli

    • Hallo Ulli,
      danke für Deine Glückwünsche zu meinem Geburtstag. Zum Datum: ich hatte meine Postings so gerade noch, kurz vor Mitternacht am 5. April hier in Texas, gepostet. Da war in Deutschland natürlich mein Geburtstag schon vorbei. Aber, wei wir zuhause immer gesagt haben, “wäär kömmt enn de Oktaav es och noch braav”: also kein Problem.
      Liebe Grüße aus dem südlichen Texas,
      Pit

  10. Happy Birthday to you!!!! May you have many, many more, all filled with love and happiness (and catty cards🙂 ). Of course you have to post that it’s your birthday. The rest of us most certainly would🙂

  11. Happy Birthday Pit🙂 …make it a good one🙂🙂

  12. Happy Birthday. I will be 69 on the 24th of this month.

  13. Happy Birthday, dear Pit!!!
    Gratulerer med dagen und herzlichen Glückwunsch nach Texas.🙂
    All the best, enjoy and celebrate and have a lovely weekend!🙂🙂🙂
    Greetings from good old grey and cold Germany, brrr…
    Hanne

    • Liebe Dina,
      in meinem anderen Blog hatte ich, glaube ich, es schon gesagt: danke für Deine mehrsprachigen Glückwünsche zu meinem Geburtstag.
      Liebe Grüße ins jetzt wohl endlich wärmere Deutschland,
      Pit

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

