Gallery

Breakfast

Motivated by a discussion with Klausbernd in his blog on the subject of English breakfasts I’ve come up with the idea to blog about my and American breakfasts respectively.

Let’s start with the most important fact: there is no such thing as an edible bread roll here, much to my chagrin. Well, I certainly could get some, at Whole Foods in San Antonio, 55 miles away.  ;)  More about bread in another, upcoming posting, and now back again to the subject at hand, breakfast.

For a long time my standard fare for breakfast has been cereals. There’s quite a palatable and nutritious choice here in the US. My favourites are: Granola [Ancient Grains] and/or Oatmeal Squares. I can get both at Costco’s in San Antonio. But Kellogg’s does quite acceptable cereals, too. I certainly like their Frosted Mini Wheats Maple Brown Sugar. I always have my cereals with milk and Mrs. Butterworth syrup, or, if I’m in a luxurious mood, with real Maple syrup.

I’ve given up on other kinds of cereals, especially the cornflake-type ones, since together with milk they get soggy (nearly) immediately. Sometime I “improve” my cereals with dried prunes and/or raisins.

As mentioned above: my breakfast nowadays does not always have cereals any more. Sometimes I have a sandwich – well, what we’d call “Butterbrot” in Germany, not a “regular” American sandwich. That is, if we’ve been to San Antonio and have got a “good” kind of bread there. Cold cuts as in Germany are unfortunately not to be had here, and thus I have cheese with my bread, or, sometimes, fried bacon. But I prefer toast, even if what you get here is not as good as the bread, with my bacon. I also quite often have preserves on my toast.

As hinted at when I mentioned fried bacon: sometimes – if I’m up to that much work😉 early in the morning – I cook something for breakfast. Scrambled eggs with fried bacon is my preferred choice then. I need to be careful, though, with my cholesterol level. But as far as fried bacon is concerned I’ve learned from Mary: first of all I fry it very crisp, then I let the fat drip off, and finally I even dab it off with kitchen tissue. And as far as the (scrambled) eggs are concerned, I don’t use real eggs laid by chickens, but “eggbeaters“, that fluid stuff made 99% of egg whites. It looks yellow like egg and it tastes like egg, but it doesn’t have any cholesterol: ideal for me. the only disadvantage: as it is a liquid mass it cannot be made into fried eggs, only into scrambled ones.

What I also cook for breakfast: well, there’s home-made breakfast tacos that come to mind. What I mostly do is bacon-and-bean tacos, sometimes also with chili. I’ve also hash browns and Kaiserschmarrn as well as fried sausage patties.

And not to forget: once in a while Mary cooks pancakes. Those, especially with real Maple syrup, are delicacies of course!

What remains to be said: coffee is an essential part of my breakfast. A breakfast without food is possible, but without coffee?! No way! Unthinkable!

Breakfast in a restaurant, as many people here in the US have it, is something we only do while travelling, and then only if the motel we’re staying at doesn’t offer a good breakfast or none at all. The I like to have breakfast at a Denny’s or, even better, at a rest stop for truckers. There I can eat everything that my heart craves… and makes my body fat!  ;)  Come to think of it, sometimes – but not very often recently – we’ve been to IHoP [International House of Pancakes] for breakfast when shopping in San Antonio.

Um diesen Beitrag auf Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

18 responses to “Breakfast

  1. Pingback: Sundays in America [2] | Pit's Fritztown News

  2. Syrup on cereal? Hmmmmmmmmm.

    • Yes, ever since I first had cornflakes, I’ve liked them with added sweetness, sugar, maple syrup [preferred] or Mrs. Butterworth [being economical].

  3. Breakfast in Texas is no different than breakfast in Arkansas or for that matter most other states in the US. One has the advantage in living close to a larger City that gives you the choice of a variety of foods including rye bread and rolls German style and cold cuts.

    Yesterday we met with some friends from the Dallas area. He was a former professor at the University of Freiburg.
    Karl-Heinz

    • Hi Karlheinz,
      Thanks for having taken the time to stop by and visit my bloig and leave a comment. I certainly agree with you: that kind of breakfast is a “typically American” breakfast. As to German style breads and cold cuts: I can get some fairly good bread in San Antonio, but unfortunately, even in the German style delicatessen hereabouts, no cold cuts that are worth mentioning.
      So you have friends here in Texas. Interesting.
      Have a great weekend,
      Pit

  4. Lieber Follower
    Ich bin mir nicht sicher, ob du meinem Blog “nixZen” noch folgst. Wie auch immer, nixZen gibt es nicht mehr, sondern aquasdemarco.wordpress.com.
    Solltest du den Reader von wordpress nutzen, bitte die Adresse aktualisieren.
    THX! Nixzen

    • Hallo NixZen,
      danke für die Nachricht. Ich weiß nicht wieso, aber der Wechsel auf dein Neues Blog hat ganz automatisch funktioniert. Ich kriege jedes neues Posting von Dir sowohl per E-Mail mit als auch im Reader.
      Liebe Grüße aus dem südlichen Texas,
      Pit
      P.S.: Was macht die Arminia?

  5. I remember the cold cuts for the German breakfasts when I was there. Most of all, however, I remember the cheese. Yummy.
    As far as American breakfasts are concerned, what I remember most there was the sheer size of the things. I don’t think I’ve seen so many pancakes piled on one plate, for one person, in my life🙂

    • I agree: the cheese(s), too. But I do get quite a good selection – even if pricey – at Whole Foods and at an H.E.B. in San Antonio. As to the size of American, and even more so in Texas (?), breakfast: I heartily agree! Those stacks of pancakes are something to wonder at.
      Best regards from southern Texas,
      Pit

  6. Pit, I’m not a big breakfast person, but one thing I can agree with you on is the poor quality of most American breads. Whenever I return from a trip to Europe, one of the first things that I miss is the wonderful, fresh breads. I particularly like the brown multigrain types. YUM.

    • Hi there,
      and thanks for taking your time to stop by to visit my blog and leave a comment. As to the bread here: I’ll soon write something about it in my blog. In San Antonio we can get some fairly decent breads, though, and quite edible bread rolls, too. But still: not to be compared with what I was used to in Germany.
      Best regards from southern Texas,
      Pit

  7. Good Morning, Pit,
    visiting the USA I ate panecakes with Maple Sirup and Bacan and salted butter. I love this breakfast.
    At home my breakfast belongs to my refrigerator!
    Greetings from Berlin sends Susanne

    • Hallo Susanne,
      ich antworte der Einfachheit halber mal auf Deutsch. Danke, dass Du Dir die Zeit genommen hast, hier in meinem Blog vorbeizuschauen und auch einen Kommentar zu hinterlassen. 🙂 Ja, die Pancakes hier sind schon lecker, ganz besonders mit Ahorn Sirup. An die gesalzene Butter – gibt es aber nicht überall – muss man sich zwar erst gewöhnen, aber ich finde es kein Problem, ganz im Gegenteil.
      Liebe Grüße aus dem südlichen Texas nach Berlin,
      Pit
      P.S.: Du kannst mein Blog natürlich auch in Deutsch verfolgen, und zwar hier: Pit’s Musings and Ramblings from a Big Country

      • Hallo Pit, danke, dass du mir in Deutsch antwortest. Ich bin zwar fleissig am Englisch lernen aber es fällt mir schwer. Und das, obwohl ich seit ich 10 Jahre alt bin, englisch lerne.
        Ich mag gerade die Kombination aus klebrig süß und salzig besonders gerne, deshalb auch den Bacon dazu.
        Ich war 2006 das letzte mal in den Staaten, da stellte ich in N.Y. in der Galerie des Deutschen Konsulats aus…. das war wirklich klasse. Es war mein vierter N.Y. Besuch und in den Staaten generell war ich öfter.
        Ich hatte immer den Traum, den Grand Canyon herunter zu laufen … vielleicht auch den Bryce Canyon…
        Ich wünsche dir einen schönen Tag aus Berlin Susanne

        • Hallo Susanne,
          gern geschehen mit der Antwort in Deutsch. Ich war eben einfach zu faul, in English zu schrfeiben, auch wenn mir das mittlerweile relativ einfach von der Hand oder, besser gesagt, von der Zunge geht. Ich kann aber auch gerne, wenn es Dir lieber, in Englisch antworten. Übrigens; dass ich auch in Deutsch blogge [http://pitspersoenlichesblog.wordpress.com/], weißT Du, oder?
          In New York – außer auf dem Flughafen auf der Reise von/nach Deutschland – war ich noch nie. Es gibt noch sooo viel zu sehen hier. Auch den Grand und den Bryce Canyon. Die fehlen beide noch in meiner “Sammlung”. Mal sehen, wann Mary und ich dahin kommen.
          Apropos den Grand Canyon “hinunterlaufen”: meinst Du, von oben, vom “Rim” herunter ins Tal? Soll zwar einerseits ein Riesenerlebnis, andererseits aber auch eine gepflegte Anstrengung sein.
          Liebe Grüße aus dem südlichen Texas nach Berlin,
          Pit

          • Guten Morgen, Pit,
            ja, ich habe deinen Blog auf Deutsch schon gefunden, blogst du in beiden Parallel? Ich bin auch froh, wenn ich in Deutsch antworten kann, ich kann meine Gedanken schneller und klarer aufschreiben und ich kann es natürlich auch schneller lesen, deshalb freue ich mich über deine deutsch geschriebenen Kommentare.
            Ja, um in die Canyons zu steigen, braucht man Kondition und Training. Der Höhenunterschied ist auch nicht ohne. Zu den Zeitpunkten, wo ich an den Canyons war, wäre das kein Problem gewesen, einzig die Zeit fehlte dafür, weil wir so viel wie möglich sehen wollten.
            Heute fehlt mir nicht nur die Zeit für meine gesamten Bergsteiger- und Kletterträume sondern auch das notwendige Training.
            Ich wünsche dir einen schönen Tag, lg aus Berlin, Susanne

  8. Weiterhin immer einen guten Appetit.
    LG. Wolfgang

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

