Aside

Bratwurst …

… is a term well-known here, too. And two of them [Btw, what is the correct plural of “Bratwurst” in English? I know there’s the abbreviation “Brats” – but what for the long form?] are just sizzling in the pan. I bought them yesterday at Whole Foods in San Antonio, since I wanted to try theirs. Let’s wait and see. Btw., I’ve also found some at H.E.B. which can easily hold their own compared to German Bratwurst.

9 responses to “Bratwurst …

  1. Nummy! I do believe we just say Bratwursts. Can’t recall a situation where it came up, but I think that’s because I didn’t really give it much thought🙂

    • I might just use the shortened “Brats” – even if that can have quite a different meaning. There’s definitely two different kind of “spoiled brats”, isn’t it?! 😉
      Best regards from southern Texas,
      Pit

  2. H.E.B. — Now that brings back some decades-old-memories.

  3. It’s smelling good to me – no matter how you say it!

  4. Die Bratwurst: Da sind Unterschiede– Tag und Nacht. Wurst ist nicht Wurst. Jeder soll sein Eigenes für sich machen. Beim Grillen oder anderes, immer guten Erfolg. Guten Appetit.
    Liebe Grüße, Wolfgang.

    • Hallo Wolfgang,
      stimmt: leider ist nicht Wurst gleich Wurst. Erst Recht nicht im Ausland. Deswegen bin ich auch so froh, dass ich hier wenigstens eine brauchbare Bratwurst kriege. Ansonsten ist es hier wursttechnisch ja bitterste Diaspora.
      Liebe Grüße aus dem südlichen Texas, und einen schönen Sonntag,
      Pit

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

