Aside

Relapse

Let’s go ahead and cultivate some prejudices. Today, i.e., I had a relapse in good old German car-owners’ traditions: it is Saturday afternoon and the car MUST be washed.  ;)  But seriously: firstly I’ve never been one of those typical German car owners [or should I say car crazies?] and I have often driven a dirty car there, and secondly our Escape had been so dirty for over a week that we were kind of ashamed driving it around. And one shouldn’t have come too close to it in good clothes. That dirt on the car had meanwhile become that hardened that I believed it wouldn’t come off in one of those touchless car washes that are so ubiquitous hereabouts – those that don’t have rotating brushes. We’ve had that before, that we needed to wash the car by hand after driving it through one of these car washes. Well, that’s why I decided to wash the car myself on the concrete slab of our new garage. And not it’s shiny again. The car, not the concrete slab! 😉

Um diesen Beitrag in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

10 responses to “Relapse

  1. *smile* ..I myselfwouldn’t wash my car on Saturdays.. If I feel it is too dirty I drive into a car wash quite spontaneously and let the machine do the job. But I know many people here in Germany have the habit of washing their cars on Saturdays😀

    • And it’s not only washing their cars. I Alfter/Germany, where I’ve lived for about 35 years of my life, many people used to hose down the sidewalks in front of their houses and even the facades of the houses themselves every Saturday. To my mind a thoughtless waste of our most precious resource, water.
      Liebe Grüße ins Schwoabeländle,
      Pit

  2. lensandpensbysally

    Yes, my ancestors are from Southern Bavaria. I also have cousins who retired to Freiburg, and have visited them. I have done extensive genealogy on my maternal side. In fact, I walked the streets of my great, great uncle’s birthplace, Heidingsfeld, which is south of Munich.

  3. lensandpensbysally

    I have to laugh. I thought that it was a female thing–never keeping the car washed and pristine. But now I can blame my German genes.

  4. I didn’t really know about this stereotype, but of course – I don’t think I’ve ever seen a dirty car here in Germany🙂

    • Hi Sam,
      Thanks for stopping by to visit my blog and leaving a comment. 🙂 Of course you can’t see a dirty car in Germany, as all car owners always wash them every Saturday! 😉
      Best regards from southern Texas,
      Pit

  5. Poor concrete slab. There is was, expecting some loving washing and you ignored it!

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

