Gallery

As I Always Keep saying, …

… when a Mercedes S-Class in a parking-lot looks like a compact car, you’re in America, and when it looks like a subcompact, you’re in Texas.  ;)  Here’s the proof, with a picture taken in a parking-lot at the harbour in Fulton on the Texas Gulf Coast:

cars

Ford – Mercedes – Ford

Well, I must admit it’s not an S-Class, but an E-Class “only” which is parked tghere between the two Fords, but anyway. After all, our Escape [on the left] is a “small SUV” only, and the Ford pick-up truck to the right of the Mercedes admittedly is a Ford F-2500 HD, but it is not the biggest Ford has to offer in that section, and still the Mercedes does look somewhat puny, doesn’t it?

Um diesen Eintrag in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

13 responses to “As I Always Keep saying, …

  1. Pingback: A Veritable Hunk of a Car | Pit's Fritztown News

  2. Hi Pit, I don’t get to visit as often as I’d like as Still no Internet at the house and I’ve got to visit friends to post. Yup Texas likes em big , like you say some need trucks for work others… Well they just think big. Funny here in Hawaii there is a large Filipino population and the woman are as a rule quite short. What do you think most of them drive-trucks, big ones F 250, Dodge Ram and no puny SUV they have full size Escalante and such. Several thousand tons of steel to haul around a 105 lb, 5′ tall gal. Mostly I keep my mouth shut, mostly.

    • Hi Dohn,
      Thanks for taking your time to stop by to visit my blog, especially as you need to yuse your friends’ internet access: I really apreciate you visiting here and leaving a comment. 🙂 I’m smiling at that mental picture I have of those small women driving the big trucks and possibly barely being able to see over the dash. 😉 I agree: for some people it’s not a necessity but prestige or whatever.
      Best regards from southern Texas,
      Pit

  3. Die Größenverhältnisse sind wirklich enorm🙂 Ihr habt einen Vorteil drüben, glaub ich … mehr bzw. größere Parkplätze🙂 Ich finde, dass die großen Fahrzeuge schon toll aussehen, aber hier bekommt man damit schnell ein Parkplatzproblem.

    Liebe Grüße zu dir,
    Ocean

    • Hallo Ocean,
      ja, es sind hier wirklich manche “Schlachtschiffe” unterwegs. Und selbst hier klappt es nicht immer so einfach mit den Parkplätzen: sogar hier im Lander der “rollenden Schlachtschiffe” sind viele Parklücken sind (mittlerweile) zu klein dimensioniert. Manche sind dann zwar ausgewiesen als nur für “compact cars“, viele aber auch nicht. Und in manchen habe wir sogar mit unserem relativ kleinen Escape so unsere Probleme.
      Liebe Grüße aus dem südlichen Texas,
      Pit
      P.S.: Bin froh, dass es Lisa-Monsterchen wieder besser geht.

  4. 😀 Made me laugh. The only state that I have visited in America is Texas and it’s one of the images that will always stick in my mind – all those huge vehicles and pickups with 4 wheels at the back (not sure why, as I never saw them hauling anything🙂 )

  5. Without question one of the things I love best about Texas is it’s trucks.

    • Hi Alex,
      So do I. May favourite, if I had the money and if I could silence my conscience re the environmental impact, would be an F-150 Raptor.
      Best regards,
      Pit

  6. Go on over to Florida where the Lincoln Town Car still rules. A real road car for traveling between the north east home and Florida for the winters.

    • Thanks for taking your time to visit my blog and leave a comment. I must admit that I’m more for SUVs and pick-up trucks.
      Best regards from southern Texas,
      Pit

  7. Made the humans laugh! So true!
    Purrs

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

