Gallery

Christmas Time – Catalogue Time

Meanwhile the biggest catalogue flood is possibly over, but at the beginning of this month it was really crazy how many catalogues we found in our mailbox every morning. This here is the “yield” of just three days:

 

catalogues

Catalogues and More Catalogues

I keep wondering if that’s really necessary. Admittedly we do order items from catalogues once in a while, but after all in the end all of them go to the trash, some of them even unread. Luckily at least it is the time of the year that we can burn  them in the fireplace instead of disposing of them in our regular trash as we can’t even recycle paper and thus the catalogues would end up in a landfill.

What adds to the multitude of catalogues in our case: as Mary has kept her maiden name after our marriage and I haven’t changed mine either, we get two catalogues from the same retailer once both of us have ordered something. It has proved to be well nigh impossible to change that, despite multiple calls to the companies in question.

Um diesen Artikel in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

8 responses to “Christmas Time – Catalogue Time

  1. I used to get billions and billions and billions of catalogs back in Texas but they did not follow me to California so I’ve been virtually catalog free for the past 19 years.

  2. We also have a fireplace and these cataloge-pages are just right to start a fire.🙂
    Have a Merry Christmas and all the best for 2013.
    Greetings from Arkansas.
    Karl-Heinz

    • Hi Karl-Heinz,
      Thanks fpr stopping by to visit my blog and leave a comment!🙂 We use our daily paper to start the fire in the fireplace and then burn some of the catalogues. But it’s sometimes not too easy as we have to tear them apart first. If not, they often don’t burn properly. And anyway, this is possible in the winter only – and that’s a short season here in southern Texas.
      Take care, and have A Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year,
      Pit

  3. Wow, das sind viele Kataloge,—. Jeder möchte verkaufen.
    Pit, ich komme gerne auf Deinen Blog, ist eben anders. Texas. Deine bisherigen Bilder finde ich prima, denn die sind echt + sehr schön. Auch das geschriebene hat seinen Sinn. Bist einer der uns sehr angenehm ist. Wenn Du möchtest, könnte ich eine pps / auch umwandeln zur wmv, oder eine direkte wmv von Deinen Bildern erstellen. Dazu brauche ich Deine Genehmigung. Wenn ja, besser sind zugesandte Bilder von Dir. (Brauchte etwa 25 Stk.) Sollte das möglich sein kannst Du diese in Deinen Blog einsetzen + im Fernseher anschauen. Das ist ein Angebot von mir. (Mache das gerne, mein erstelltes kennst Du ja) Nun warte ich auf Antwort. Liebe Grüße, Wolfgang (Bitte in Mail schreiben. Danke)

    • Hallo Wolfgang,
      es freut mich sehr, dass Euch mein Blog so gefällt. Danke, dass Ihr immer wieder reinschaut. Apropos Bilder: da habe ich auch noch ein eigenes “Bilderbuch-Blog” [http://pitsbilderbuch.wordpress.com/]. Vielleicht interessiert Dic ja auch da.
      Zum Thema “Bilder => pps”: danke für Dein großzügiges Angebot, aber das werde ich wohl weniger anstreben. Ich bleibe mal bei Einzelbildern, und auch ohne Untermalung. Könnte ich übrigens wahrscheinlich – nach etwas Einarbeitung – auch selber. Für die Bilder von unserer Hochzeit hier habe ich es – allerdings (noch) ohne musikalische Untermalung, schon gemacht.
      Liebe Grüße aus dem südlich Teas, und Euch beiden ein frohes Weihnachtsfest und alles Gute, vor Allem gute Gesundheit, im neuen Jahr,
      Pit

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

