Gallery

Credit Cards – Continued

A couple of days ago I returned my Discover credit card, and also asked them to close down my account. And that’s why: I had tried to set up payment for what I owe from Mary’s and my joint Wells Fargo account, as I have it for my other credit card [Capital One]. But something must have gone wrong. I always test these settings, before the full amount is due, to be sure that everything is as it’s supposed to be. So I transferred $15 into the credit card account. And at first everything seemed to be fine. My credit card account showed I owed them $15 less. But then there was quite a surprise when I saw my first statement of the account. I saw the $15 deducted as “payment”, but then, a few days later, added again as “spent”, plus a fee of $25 for what they call “returned check charge”. This is not only charged for a returned check, but also if the bank you make the payment from doesn’t honour your money transfer – as they must have done in my case. I have absolutely no idea why this could have happened as at that time there was more than enough money in the account. Maybe I had made a mistake with the data, e.g. my bank account number, when I filled in the online-form? I can’t find out any more, of course, as once you send off such a form, the data are no longer available to you. And I was in no mood to try and find out on the phone with Discover’s customer service. I just sent them a check covering all I owed them and asked them to close my account – which they did. I don’t exactly mind as I have more credit cards than I need anyway. It would only have been helpful to improve my credit rating more, and then apply for an Exxon credit card. This is the only one I would covet in addition to those I have as that gives you a 15ct/gallon rebate at any of their gas stations. And that’s a bargain since the card itself has no fees. I’ll have to wait and see what happens, but I’m afraid that this incident, that my payment wasn’t honoured by my bank and that I incurred that “returned check fee” will lower my credit rating. But then, that’s  the way it is and I can’t change it.

Um diesen Eintrag in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

4 responses to “Credit Cards – Continued

  1. “But then, that’s the way it is and I can’t change it.” That’s not the Texas way of thinking, I am sure!😉

  2. Guten Abend Pit
    Creditkarte
    Credit sind Schulden, die aufgeschoben werden. Wir kennen keinen Credit—.In den USA ist das gang und geblich. Warum? Das wissen wir.— Wenn wir etwas haben wollen, Bares Geld, und sind besser mit allen in Deutschland. Das weist Du. Andere Länder + Sitten.
    Gruß, Wolfgang

    • Hallo Wolfgang,
      natürlich sind Kreditkarten Schulden, aber das sehe ich nicht als schlimm an, solange man den Überblick behält und es nicht übertreibt. Und hier mit Bargeld zu bezahlen ist bei größeren Beträgen so gut wie unmöglich, wenn man keinen Koffer mit sich herumschleppen will, denn größere Scheine als $20 bekommt man im Normalfall nicht. Und ein 100-Dollar-Schein ist eh der größte, den man überhaupt bekommen kann. Kreditkarte ist da eben viel praktischer.
      Liebe Grüße aus dem südlichen Texas,
      Pit

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

