Gallery

The Beer-Tasting Can Continue

Last week at Whole Foods I bought a package of 6 different beers from the Spoetzl Brewery in Shiner, 2 of each beer, which makes it 12 bottles in all.

beer-tasting

Tbe Beer-Tasting Can Continue with Shiner Family Reunion

This package is sold under the slightly strange name of “Family Reunion.” I don’t really see a connection between a meeting of family members and a collection of beers. Of course, there are 6 beers of the “Shiner family” in this package, but still it seems a bit far-fetched to me.

Nevertheless, I was intrigued by this package, as it gives me another opportunity to try different beers without having to by a six-pack of each as they aren’t sold by the single bottle.

What this package contains are the following beers:

  • Shiner Bock [which I have had quite frequently before]
  • Shiner Bohemian Black Lager
  • Shiner Blonde
  • Shiner Hefeweizen [which I have tried before but am looking forward to trying again to improve/train my tongue and palate]
  • Shiner Kosmos Reserve
  • Shiner Brewer’s Pride Selection [this time, lo and behold, the selection is Shiner Prickly Pear, a beer brewed from the fruit of the Prickly Pear Cactus, that ubiquitous southern Texas cactus]

I’m going to write more about those beers as soon as I’ll have tasted them.

P.S.: I’ve already written about the Samuel Smith’s “Pale Ale” sitting on top of the box of Shiner beers, cf. Beer-Tasting (4)

Related articles

6 responses to “The Beer-Tasting Can Continue

  1. Hello Pit
    Thanks for the attendance in our Blog.
    Friendly greetings, Wolfgang

  2. Shiner Blonde was always my favorite.

  3. Hallo Pit
    Alles OK —
    Gruß, Wolfgang

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

