Gallery

Coffeemaker on the Fritz

This morning I found out, to my great horror 😉 that our coffeemaker maybe giving up its ghost. It produces hot water only very slowly and only for a very short time at that. If I switch it off and give it a (short) break, it starts again, but only for a minute or two. This morning it hasn’t produced, in spite of having been switched on and off a couple of times, the regular 4 cups of coffee. I’m still waiting to see what’s going to happen and if the result will be drinkable coffee. Bu whatever, I think it’s time for a new coffeemaker, even if this one here certainly has a sentimental value: Mary bought this, since from many e-mails and chats with me she knew that I am an “old coffee nose”, even before I came over to here for the first time [summer 1999], so that I’d feel really well here.  :)  That makes the coffeemaker 13 years old by now, and it’s really been used very frequently. Now I’ll have to look what I can get for a replacement. Coffeemakers nowadays are much more sophisticated, and most of them have quite a few knick-knacks, but (nearly) all of them are for much larger amounts of coffee [10 or 12 cups]. That is more than I want/need, since with those coffeemakers it is somewhat difficult to brew smaller amounts. The 4 cups our present on brews at a time are ideal for my purposes. I’ll have to wait and see what I can find. Meanwhile I won’t die of coffee-deprivation 😉 , though, because I have two French coffee presses. It is slightly more cumbersome to brew coffee with these, and getting rid of the suds is somewhat filthier, but at least I don’t have to forgo my favourite beverage.

Um diesen Eintrag in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

4 responses to “Coffeemaker on the Fritz

  1. You don’t need coffee anyhow. Go get some Bevo juice………..lol

  2. I’m hoping you haven’t been without coffee for these last two days — would life still be worth living, even in Texas? And those basic coffee makers for just 4 cups are still out there.

    • Hi there,
      Thanks for taking your time to visit my blog nd leave a comment. No, I haven’t been without coffee the last few days. But even without coffee, yes, life would still be worth living, even in Texas. 😉 And I know that I’ll be able to find a basic coffee maker: I just need a little time to look, possibly online.
      Take care, and have a good one,
      Pit

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

