Gallery

Port Aransas …

… was a flop, unfortunately. It did start (fairly) well when we went there on Wednesday, August 22. We left our place shortly before noon and, with a short stop in Sinton for some water and some pastry, plus a “pit stop”, arrived at Port A a few minutes after 2 p.m. Different from previous trips there was no wait for the ferry, quite to the contrary, the ferry was waiting for us, and even after boarding it we had to wait some more until it was full and ready to sail.

ferry

The Mark G Goode

This picture, taken in 2005, shows one of the 8 ferries that take cars across the Intracoastal Waterway. It takes only about five minutes and is free. If you don’t want to take the ferry, there’s a bridge at the southern tip of Mustang Island that takes you to Corpus Christi on the mainland.

The crossing can be busy:

ferries

A Busy Waterway

As this part of the Intracoastal Waterway connects Corpus Christi to the Gulf of Mexico, quite big ships can be encountered here:

big ship

Quite a Big One

And quite different “monsters” come sailing by, too:

oil platform

What a “Monster” Passing by

And this is what the thing looked like in full:

oil platform

The “Monster” in Full

But back to this year’s stay: After arriving, we drove around some, to while away the time until we could check in at our condo. Sorry, I don’t have pictures as I didn’t feel well enough at all later to take any. Suffice it to say that we really liked the condo. The building wasn’t very new, but the condo was really well maintained, and it was in a quiet area of Port A. We had a living-room with a sofa and two recliners plus a dining-area, a kitchen [small but well equipped], a small bathroom and a bedroom with two queen beds. Why we had chosen this condo over our usual place, a kitchenette at Tropic Island: we were allowed to have Sally. I think she enjoyed the trip, even if, at some times, she was a tad afraid of the strange surroundings.

Later that day we went to have our anniversary supper at the “Trout Street Bar & Grill“, one of the restaurants we really like in Port A. For starters Mary had a “Shrimp Remoulade” [fresh boiled Gulf shrimp peeled and served with an avocado half and spicy remoulade sauce on a bed of fresh greens] and I had a cup of “Trout Street Seafood Gumbo” [dark roux gumbo loaded with shrimp, fish, crabmeat, Andouille Sausage and okra]. We both enjoyed our appetizers very much. Mary’s was more than a mere appetizer, it was nearly a full meal in itself.

As entrees Mary had shrimp again [she really likes them!], wrapped in bacon and stuffed with jalapenos, with veggies and rice pilaw, whereas I had chosen blackened catch of the day with penne in a mushroom-and-cream sauce. Again, we both enjoyed the food a lot. I had two mugs of Shiner Bock – which they had on draft there – with my food.

Unfortunately by that time my stomach bug, which I must have picked up on Tuesday, made itself felt more and more so that I felt full very soon and was unable to finish the pasta – much to my regret, as they were really tasty. After our supper, we drove to the condo, picked up Sally and then drove to the harbour and the park there for a walk. Well, actually it was Mary who did the walking as I didn’t really want to stay too far away from the restrooms by that time.  ;)  Still, I managed to take a few shots of the sunset:

sunset

Sunset on the Intracoastal Waterway

The ferries, btw, run 24/7, of course:

ferry

Ferry and Sunset

And with that, my Port A experience came to an end this time, as on Thursday I really didn’t want to leave the condo for longer than it took to walk Sally a couple of times. I just wanted to be close to the bathroom, as the stomach bug had really got me then. Well, it can’t be helped.

To sum things up: I had taken some medication [Immodium] , which helped some, and so I didn’t have to much problems on Friday on our way home, but Mary did the driving and I slept quite a bit in the car. But even with the medication plus some yoghurt and Yakult my stomach has not quite settled down to its regular routine even now.

Um diesen Beitrag in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

6 responses to “Port Aransas …

  1. By the way, when I was in college at Texas A&M University hometown friends and I would drive home to Kingsville. When we got to Sinton, we knew we were home, even though Sinton is still 60 miles or so from Kingsville. Haven’t been back to Sinton since my senior year at A&M in 1977.

    • Hi Russel,
      I think that area must have changed a lot since you saw it last. It has even changed a lot in the last 3 years, with huge bypasses and big wind parks havin been built.
      Take care, and have a good one,
      Pit

  2. I just fell in love with Mary: “shrimp …. wrapped in bacon and stuffed with jalapenos.”

    • Well, do I have to be(come) jealous??!! 😉 Re the shrimp: I’d very much like them myself, but I have to be careful as they’re very high in cholesterol, and I already have quite a high level of that in my blood.

  3. Hope you are feeling better Pit xxx

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

