Gallery

A Foundling

When Mary was walking in town tonight she heard some pityful meowing and, upon searching, found a tiny little kitten hiding in a very narrow gap between two buildings. At first it wouldn’t want to come out, inspite of all her calling. But then, after she had got some kitty food at the local aupermarket just around the corner, it was sitting there and she could pick it up. Of course, Mary with her big heart for strays, for which I love her, couldn’t resist and brought it home. And now we have number 8 here …

foundling

I’m Sooooooooo Hungry

… and it’s hungrily munching away. The food bowl is (nearly) bigger than the kitten.  ;)  It was too hungry, of course, to look into the camera.

Later, I had it on my shoulder:

foundling

A Kitten on My Shoulder

Isn’t it ever so sweet? And please, don’t look at my unwashed hair too closely. 😉

Just now, we’re keeping it in an animal carrier so that the other cats won’t bother it and that they can get used to each other. Sally, btw, has already sniffed at it closely and has accepted the latest addition to our household.

15 responses to “A Foundling

  1. Pingback: A Very Young Sister Fidelma | Pit's Bilderbuch

  2. Welcome number 8🙂 Adorable kitten & I like people with such a big heart. I would have done the same🙂

    • Hi Wolke,
      Thanks for taking your time to visit my blog and commenting. That little one really is adorable, I agree. It has just come back from the vet, btw, and it is, just as we thought, a little “she”. Too young for vaccinations still, though. She’s getting quite well used to her new surroundings and seems to be happy here. But sometimes, we think, she’s till missimng her mama, when she tries to sucks from our hands.
      Re big heart: yes, my wife surely has one, And I wouldn’t havethe heart not to pick up such a lonely being either. I simply can’t understand how people can leave such a sweet thing to fend for itself. Actually, it might mean to condemn it to death. Luckily, she was left in a fairly well frequented spot, near our local washeteria, where there’s a good chance for someone to find her.
      Take care,
      Pit

    • Hi Texas,
      Yes, she certainly IS ever so cute. Oh, and yes again: she is a “she”. Our vet has just confirmed what we were thinking. She’s getting quite sued to being here now, no longer afraid, but already quite adventurous.
      Take care, and enjoy NY,
      Pit

  3. I picked-up our black “kitten” 14 years ago in front of our post office. Our dog appeared suddenly in front of our house door abut the same time.

    • Hi Karlheinz,
      Thanks for taking your time to visit my blog and leaving a comment. 5 of our 8 cats are strays, and our dog, Sally, is a stray, too. That happens quite frequently here – unfortunately – that people just leave their (young) animals somewhere to fend for themselves. I can’t understand people like these.
      Take care, and have a good one,
      Pit

  4. Awww he’s so cute! How could anyone resist this little face?

    • Hi Carine,
      Thanks for taking your time to stop by and leave a comment. Yep, I agree, this little one is ever so cute. Btw, our vet has just confirmed what we were thinking: it’s a “she”. You’re right, how can anyone resist that little face with its white nose. What I absolutely cannot understand is how anyone can leave such a cute little kitty to fend for itself. If it hadn’t been for my wife just passing by, it might have meant death for that sweet little girl, even if it was left near our local washeteria where quite a few people come by.
      Take care, and have a good one,
      Pit

  5. Oh wow you guys are the best. Look forward to hearing all about number 8. You should have a naming competition xxx

    • Hi there,
      Thanks for the compliment. I’ll keep you posted. Btw, there IS a new post up on the blog, but you’ll have noticed that, I think. As to the naming competition: I’ll leave finding a nam to my wife. She’s really good at it.
      Take over there in merry old England, and my regards to the three Moggies,
      Pit

  6. Oh what a sweet, adorable kitten. Well done to both of you for the rescue. Poor little thing will now be Happy Little Thing!

    • Hi,
      Thanks for taking oyur time to visit my blog and leaving a comment. And thanks especially for the praise. 🙂 This little thing – it’s a “she” btw – is really happy now and much less afraid. She’s scampering around, exploring her new surroundings now. Just now, moving around my feet.
      Take care, and have a good one,
      Pit

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

