Gallery

Purple Martins

This year we have quite a few more Purple Martins than last year. Mayb be that’s because I cleaned out their houses early enough and also cut down the trees next to them, as Purple Martins on the one hand like a clean house to start with before they build their nests and on the other hand want a clear and unobstructed path to approach their houses. Unfortunately I have not been able to take more than but a few good pictures as they’re very shy to begin with and as on the other hand they like to sit in the shade. Who wouldn’t in our southern Texan heat?! And I also can’t take any pictures in the afternoon and evening sunshine as I can’t get – because of our tall sunflowers – get to the west if the Purple Martin houses. Anyway, here’s what I did get: two – or rather one and a half – Purple Martins at their house.

Purple Martins

Purple Martins at Their House

I’m singing [or ranting?] at full throttle:

Purple Martins

Vagrant Minstrel

Another one is sitting on the rods of our second Purple-Martin-house, which has been modelled after those the Indians used to offer Purple Martins, made from gourds:

Purple Martins

Gourds Made from Dried and Hollowed-Out Pumpkins Is What the Indians Used to Offer to Purple Martins for Their Houses

As I said: the sunflowers are blocking my access to the west of the Purple Martin houses:

sunflowers

Sunflowers … with Purple Marftin Houses

And that’s how drab that area of our garden looked early this year, just after I had cut down some Mesquite trees to give the Purple Martins unhindered access to their houses:

Purple Martins

Purple Martin Airport Approach

Um diesen Eintrag in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

5 responses to “Purple Martins

  1. Yesterday I was at an outdoor patio at a lakeside restaurant. There were seven bird nests in the roof rafters. I thought how odd until a purple martin showed up. They love their condominiums! lol

    • Hi,
      Thanks for taking your time to stop by at my blog and commenting. Purple Martins in the roof rafters? Now that’s a strange nesting place for them, isn’t it?
      Best regards from southern Texas,
      Pit

  2. Pingback: Heath 1 Purple Martin Rails

  3. We don’t get martins here. My parents had a house, but I never saw martins, only swallows.

    Cheers.

    • Hi Randall,
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Could it be that you’re too far north for Purple Martins? I don’t know. I’ll have to check their migrating routes.
      Take care,
      Pit

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

