Gallery

Texas Sharpshooting

I’ve never heard that term before, which I came across in a Washington-Post article about earthquakes today. The definition is, “You shoot at the side of a barn and then draw a bull’s eye around the bullet hole.” Now that’s a (shooting) technique that suits me perfectly. I’ve always maintained that I not only need a shotgun [and not a rifle] to be able to hit my mark, and that even then I’m able to hit my mark only if it moves into my shot.   ;)   But I’d never known that Texans would be known as such bad marksmen.  😉

Talking of my abilities of a marksman: I’m happy that Mary’s father’s shotgun is still around as it takes 5 shells as opposed to Mary’s own which is a single-shot gun. If I ever have to use the gun to shoot at (rattle)snakes, I’ll certainly need more than one shot and with Mary’s it would take much too long to reload. By that time the snake would either have escaped or got me. For me, actually the blunderbuss-type of a gun would be the ideal one. Or that sawed-off shotgun that the character Mississippi [played by James Caan] in the movie El Dorado uses.   ;)   Well, a sawed-off shotgun is illegal, of course, and blunderbusses are from a long-begone time, aren’t they? Thus I just need some more training with Mary’s father’s Remington/Browning.

Um diesen Beitrag in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

One response to “Texas Sharpshooting

  1. You have been nominated for the Sunshine Award.🙂 Please visit http://fourbluehills.com/2012/03/11/sunshine-award/ to learn more about the award.

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

