Gallery

What I’m missing here …

sausage

Sausage Cold Cuts

… are sausage cold cuts as in the picture above, taken from a display at a German butcher’s. As far as cold cuts go, Texas has absolutely nothing to offer – and I believe that holds true for all of the USA. Even the so-called “German Delis” – local or on the Internet – aren’t really worth visiting. A smoked Black Forest ham – to mention but one example – is absolutely unknown hereabouts. And the same applies to cheese cold cuts: it’s minimal what’s on offer.

Um diesen Beitrag in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

4 responses to “What I’m missing here …

  1. Picture brings back find memories. I’ve spent a month each summer bicycling in Germany. How I miss my morning German breakfasts with the great breads, cheeses and cold cuts. Don’t get me started on the beer. I think that it fueled me through my Bavarian trip. This past summer I ride from south of Hamburg down the Elbe to the Czech Republic and then back north through the Spreewald to Berlin. I was in Pilzner heaven.

    • Hi Mike,
      Thanks for taking your time to stop by to visit my blog and for leaving a comment. So you’ve spent much tine bicycling in Germany. That’s interesting. I can imagine how lovely that trip up the Elbe and then back to the Spreewald must have been.
      Well that’s something else I miss here, especially down here in southern Texas: the wonderful German bike paths. I’ve done quite a bit of bicycling in Germany, and here, too [http://pitsbicycleblog.wordpress.com/], after I came to live here, but nowadays, with all that oil traffic going on here, I’m too scared and even afraid of my life on the roads around Karnes City. In fact, that’s a reason why we want to relocate to the Texas Hill Country in the Fredericksburg [http://pitsbicycleblog.wordpress.com/2010/08/29/fredericksburg-rides/] area since they have ever so wonderful small but still paved roads around there.
      As to the beer: yes, that can indeed fuel your trip. I really like(d) to have a cold beer after an exhausting bike ride. That seemed to replenish minerals very well. During my rides I prefer(red) Apfelschorle, that mixture of apple juice and carbonated mineral water.
      Take care, and safe bicycling,
      Pit

  2. Oh, so sorry to hear that. I miss the ease of buying them as well as the choice, but I have found some local stores (like Sprouts) that carry some. Have you checked out http://www.germandeli.com? I ordered a crazy expensive Schwarzwaelder Schinken there once and it was delicious🙂

    • Hi Sabrina,
      I know the German Deli and I checked out their website a while ago: great stuff. But I haven’t ordered anything yet. There’s another place up in Wisconsin that has good stuff, too. Need to find out that URL again. Meanwhile, I’ll make do with local sausages: as this here is a Polish settlement area, there’s some pretty good sausages around.
      Best regards, and have a great Superbowl weekend,
      Pit

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

