Gallery

New Passport

Today I was in Houston, at the German consulate, to apply for a new passport as my old one expires at the end of April. And since it may take up to 12 weeks to get a new one I wanted to apply early enough. Unfortunately, one has to apply in person at the consulate now, as they take your fingerprints to be electronically included in the passport. And that means travelling to either Houston or El Paso. Well, Houston IS closer – even if it’s not that much. Since my appointment [you have to get one online, btw] was at 11 a.m. and I didn’t want to be late, I decided to drive there yesterday evening [first, btw, to a meeting of our bicycle club in San Antonio and then on to Houston]. I stayed at a Super 8 motel off Katy Highway, just about a 15-minute drive from the consulate on Post Oak Boulevard. And that was easy to find this morning.

At the consulate things went fairly fast. I had all the necessary documents & copies [passport, Texas driver’s license, Permanent Resident Card, birth certificate, marriage certificate and the confirmation that I’m no longer a resident of Germany]. What they want the copies for remains an enigma to me, though, as the official at the consulate just looked at them and the handed them back to me. I had believed they’d keep them on their files. Instead, they scanned all the originals and filed these electronically. And I also don’t know why they want to see the marriage certificate as a passport doesn’t tell the martital status, does it? Anyway, as I had all the documents, things went along fast, and after paying the fees, I was on my way again at 11:35 a.m. The fees, btw, inlcude postage for the passport to be sent here to my address. That, at least, avoids another trip to Houston, just to get the poassport.

Um diesen Beitrag in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

4 responses to “New Passport

  1. Hope you get it quickly! … and the right one! I renewed mine at the Houston consulate a while back…. and they got it wrong. I selected on the application that I wanted the one with more pages since it’s good for ten years and we rack up quite a few visas… Unfortuntly, the lady at the desk only made me pay for the smaller one, so that’s what I got. It was a mess to send it back, prove somehow that it was their fault, pay the difference, and get the right one. Hope you have none of those problems!

    • Hi Sabrina,
      I opted for the 32-page one. I checked my old passport, and in spite of having frequently travelled between Germany and the US before I married here, I still have quite a few pages unused. Nowadays we don’t travel abroad that often and thus I think 32 pages will be sufficient.
      Best regards,
      Pit

  2. My wife took my daughter and elder son to Kasas City for their German passport renewal, as the St. Louis consulate doesn’t have passport services. KC is only four hours away, by car which is infinitely better than Chicago, where she had to go last year with our youngest. Like you, once she was in the office, the process was painless and quick.

    Cheers.

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

