Gallery

Reposted: “Mary’s Old Camaro” [originally posted on November 2, 2010]

Mary’s old Camaro will need a lot of work still, but it works and we can drive it, thanks to the minimal check they do here at the state inspection. By German standards [TÜV, as we call it there], the inspection here is less than minimal, but we’re allowed to drive it, even if – in my opinion, it’s not really safe. It’s a 1968 Camaro and it had been sitting unused in an open shed for quite some time – about 20 years. Unfortunatly, the back had not been covered well enough by the shed and the rain has clearly left its marks there: plenty of rust on the hood of the trunk, which I have – very temporarily – covered with some fiberglass and resin. Frankly, I haven’t taken great pains as the whole hood will have to be replaced. I just wanted to cover the holes. There is so much rust which you can’t even see that there’s no way around replacing it completely. Just painting it over will not do at all. The whole body needs to be working over with many parts wanting to be replaced, especially the windshield, which is leaking. And also the interior, from the seats to the roofliner, needs a thorough working over.

But most important at present are the mechanics, first of all the steering that has way too much play and thus is a safety risk. Butz in the long run we want toi have the car completely restored, because on the one hand a second car is always good to have, and on the other hand – and most important – it has quite some emotional value for Mary as it was her first car ever.

What I really find remarkable is the fact that, even after sitting idle in the shed for twenty years, the car just wanted a new battery and it started and ran! Maybe that’s thanks to the dry southern Texas climate.

Talking of the state inspection: As I said above, it can’t be compared to the German TÜV. They only make sure that the front, rear and  turning lights as well as the brakes are working. For the brakes that means that you can stall the engine with them and not really if they pull to the side. For the lights it’s enough that they work, no matter if they’re badly aligned and blind oncoming traffic. Thus it’s not wonder that many old clunkers are still on the roads here which, in Germany, would be decorating a junk yard.

camaro

The Camaro

Um diesen Eintrag in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

4 responses to “Reposted: “Mary’s Old Camaro” [originally posted on November 2, 2010]

  1. Hi Randall,
    We’ll certainly try to take good care of ours. We’ll see what we can do to restore it. The most pressing problem just now is to find a single barrel carburetor. The one on the engine isn’t working properly any more and the mechanic said there’s no way to fix it. When I’m back from Germany [leaving Monday], I’ll take care of it and will try to find one.
    Best regards,
    Pit

  2. Some years ago, I was involved in a fraud case involving a ’68 Camaro. Those things can be worth a mint, if they are restored correctly. The car in my lawsuit was a $55,000 vehicle, which my guy had originally purchased for less than $1000.00. Take good care of yours.

    Cheers.

  3. German inspections are very strict! When I was stationed in Germany, from 1981-1983, you had to have your car inspected when you bought it. If it wasn’t safe the seller had to fix it. (That is how I found out about the hole under my seat and I was about 5 or 6 months pregnant!)

    My first car was a 1968 Camaro my dad bought for me for 400 bucks. I LOVED that car. Baby Moon rims, blue. Even raced my dad once, course he beat me cuz his car was a Chrysler New Yorker with a 400 something engine compared to my 327 V8.🙂 I will have to find a picture of that car and post it. I had two other Camaros, a 1971 and a 1976. 🙂

    • So you had a V-8. Mary’s father was too careful for that. He only bought her a straight 6, 250 cubic inches and 155 horsepower. But she still enjoyed it and likes it even today.
      Am looking forward to seeing a picture of oyur Camaro.

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

