Gallery

Heringsstipp und Pellkartoffeln …

… is what I had for supper tonight. Well, actually no peeled potatoes as I simply was too lazy to peel them. And since they were nice and fresh it was no problem to have them with their skins. And the marinaded pieces of herring filet were delicious. Really yummy. Recently I had found those herring filets in wine sauce at the H.E.B. in Floresville and first of all I had tried a small jar and found them to be really good. The wine sauce was a tad on the sour side, though, but yummy. I don’t know how much wine had gone into it, but definitely some vinegar. And some onions, too. And so I had later bought a larger jar and yesterday I made the marinade and then let it sit in the fridge for a day to let it settle and mix.

What I did for the marinade: I used Miracle Whip light and Hellmann’s light mayonnaise in equal parts [don’t ask me for an exact measurement as I always cook by the seat of my pants] and some of the sauce they filets had originally come with in their jar. Then I added some cubed pickled cucumbers, about a quarter of a cubed apple [I had Fuji on hand] and a few rings of onion [shallots actually], and stirred all of it well before I added the pieces of herring filet. And then I put all of it in the fridge for the night, as said above, to let it really mix.

Well, actually using cream instead of the wine sauce would have been better, but I didn’t want to because of the calories and the cholesterol. And anyway, it was yummy, too, the way I did it. And there’s quite a bit left for tomorrow.

Um diesen Eintrag in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

 

3 responses to “Heringsstipp und Pellkartoffeln …

  1. I just had Heringsstipp for the first time at my husband’s family’s home in Wuppertal, Germany, and I was surprised that it was so good. I looked it up in Wiki but it doesn’t seem to exist outside of Germany. I think I will try to make it myself.

    Komisch dass du beide hast – Miracle Whip UND Hellmans in deinem Haus! Ich kann Miracle Whip hier kaufen, aber Hellmans, *seufz* Ich vermisse es so sehr.

  2. Pickled herring was never something I took to. I like the non-pickled type in the tin, but my wife’s Herringsalat is hers and hers alone.

    Cheers.

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

