Gallery

Buster Has Gone

Since around 09:30 yesterday morning we haven’t seen Buster

buster

Buster on His Birthday Last Year

any more and we don’t know what happened to him. And this is what happened: Buster and Sally had been out quite a bit during the night, guarding a raccoon in a tree. In the morning, I wanted to chase that raccoon away and went out with my shotgun and just shot in the air close to it. And that must have scared the dogs enormously, as they immediately took off and disappeared in the bushes. Sally returned after about 2 1/2 hours, but we haven’t seen any sign of Buster yet [06:55].

Twice yesterday I walked across our and neighbouring properties, calling for him, but no response. And in the evening we drove around in the car, covering a much larger area, but again to no avail.

I have absolutely no idea what may have happened. I can easily imagine that he took off in a fright, but not very far. I would assume that he’d stay on the property – just in hiding. And I really cannot imagine that he’d not come back since he needs his food and – even more – his water, especially in this heat [around 100 Fahrenheit]. I can only imagine that something must have happened to him – maybe a heat stroke? When Sally came back she was really panting for quite a while.

So now I can only hope that he’ll be back but hope is diminishing by the minute and I’m abolutely devastated that my best friend may have gone for ever. Of course, now, with hindsight, I’m berating myself that I didn’t get the doggies in the house before shooting off the shotgun.

Um diesen Eintrag in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

5 responses to “Buster Has Gone

  1. Pingback: In Memoriam Buster | A German Expat's Life in Texas

  2. Awwww Pit, how terrible not to know😦

    • Hi Texas,
      Thanks for taking your time to stop by and leave a comment. I really appreciate your words. It sure is terrible not to know what happened to Buster. And I still believe that it was – at least partly – my fault that he disapperared. That makes it all the more sad.
      But this, animals simply disappearing, unfortunately is part of our life here in rural southern Texas. There are simply too many predators out. But we can’t keep the animals inside all the time. We’re just bound to lose one of our precious darlings from time to time. But then, on the other hand, we have new canine and feline friends simply wandering by and staying with us quite frequently, too. In fact, 4 of our kitties and our dog, Sally, are strays that happened to come by and stay. And our other 3 cats were picked up in the streets by friends and given to us. Sometime we’re joking that the kitties around here must have posted signs like, “If you need a home, just go and see Mary and Pit!” 😉
      Have a good one, stay well, and a nice scratch behind your ears from us,
      Pit

  3. I’m still so sad about it. And sometimes, against all reason, I still hope to see him wagging his tail when I drive up to te house.

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

