Gallery

Re-Posted: “Here We Go – My First Entry Here” [originally posted on January 16, 2010]

Here We Go: My First Entry Here

Posted by Pit on Saturday, January 16, 2010

Hello y’all, and welcome to my attempt to keep contact with you in this way!
After much dithering, I have decided to become more active in the blogosphere and exchange thoughts, opinions and experiences with my friends in Germany by way of this personal blog, and to keep you, my dear friends, up to date with how I fare in my (new) adopted home country.
Here you can just read, but also leave your comments – which I would, of course, appreciate greatly.
Let’s just see how it is going to work. I don’t think I’m going to keep a kind of a diary, but I’ll do my best to at least leave posts on a fairly regular basis.
Let’s start with a brief summary of the events that have happened since the beginning of this year:
Mary and I spent on New Year’s Day – plus a few days around it – in Denver, whith our cousin, Jo Ann. We were lucky: it was an absolutely gorgeous winter weather – cold but clear and with plenty of snow on the ground.

estes park

Not Denver, but Estes Park, in the Winter of 2009/10

Luckily for us, the real big snowfall came only after we had left.
Here in southern Texas, we then had three days of a – for this country – lousy cold: up to -10 degrees Celsius [14 degrees Fahrenheit]. And even the daytime temperatures were not or only slightly above freezing. Especially the strong and cold north wind on the first cold day did indeed penetrate. Thus we really had to take care that the water pipes outside would not freeze. And our zoo [the 2 dogs and 7 cats] were more inside the house than outside – quite understandably. But it is amazing how well they can handle the cold. Buster with his thick hair feels more comfortable in cold and even sub-zero temperatures than in summer, when it is really hot. And so he spends a lot of time outside even in this cold weather. Sally, however, prefers to be inside. And most cats, too, even if they prowl around outside every now and again for a long time. We make ourselves as warm as possible: warmly clad and a blazing fire in the fireplace. That makes things pretty comfortable. But now I’ll have go outside and once again “make wood” [a literal translation of the German expression “Holz machen“].

Um diesen Eintrag in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

One response to “Re-Posted: “Here We Go – My First Entry Here” [originally posted on January 16, 2010]

  1. Pingback: Es geht los: mein erster Eintrag hier « Pit's Musings and Ramblings from a Big Country

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

