Gallery

Potato Pancakes

Ever since I had read about them in Sabrina’s [Countryskipper's] Blog in her description of traditional foods on German Christmas markets, I had wanted to make them myself here: potato pancakes, “Reibekuchen” in German and “Rieevkooche” in the dialect of Cologne. And that is what I did today; and here’s the outcome:

potato pancakes

Potato Pancakes

Clockwise, from top left:

  1. the first batch has just been put on the griddle
  2. they’re getting brown – but need more
  3. the finished product, with sugar beet molasses
  4. a slightly different recipe: with onions

As usual with me cooking, I can’t give an exact recipe.

  1. What I did today:
  2. peel [4 fairly large] potatoes and grate them
  3. add one egg plus the equivalent of one egg in eggbeaters [helps me with my cholesterol]
  4. add some freshly ground pepper and a teaspoon of salt
  5. add about 1/4 cup of flour
  6. mix throughly
  7. fry [in some oil on griddle] till nicely brown

And then, before eating, I put on sugar beet molasses [the "Grafschafter Goldsaft" in the picture]. Traditionally, potato pancakes are served with apple sauce, but I don’t care for that. I prefer the molasses.

And just for experiment’s sake I did my last batch with sliced onions [1/4 sweet white onion], and that turned out a yummy recipe, too. Without the molasses, though.

Um diesen Eintrag in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

10 responses to “Potato Pancakes

  1. My brother, when he lived at my house, made breakfast almost every day, he made these all the time, although without molasses. I love them.
    I live in a sugarbeet area. :) One of the biggest crops up here.

    • Hmm, you live in a sugar beet area yourself! I grew up close to one in Germany. Well, the Bonn area, where I lived from 1968 till 2008, is close to a sugar beet area, too. And you get these molasses at every grocery shop: yummy, sweet and sticky stuff! ;)

      • Yep, sugar beet area and they make sugar with them here too. :) In Lovell, there is a sugar factory. The beets are in a co-op and there are a great many beet crops up here. My nieces husband just started raising them. (He grows very many things, but you cannot be in the co-op until someone sells their shares, and someone finally did and he bought the shares) I worked at the beet factory for one season, while looking for a permanent job. There is where I found out sugar is dangerous, can catch on fire. They make molasses there too. Along with some kind of pellets for farm/ranch animals to eat. Very neat experience, if stinky. :)

        • Hi Betty,
          You live in a sugar beet area?! Hadn’t known that! And you even worked in a sugar factory! Re those molasses they produce: is it a kind of sweet blackish syrupy stuff? And re the stink: what I remember from sugar beets and stink: the farmers compost the leaves, and to call that stinky is quite an understatement. ;)
          Best regards,
          Pit

  2. My wife has her Bavarian recipe and I have my great-great grandmother’s Alsatian recipe called “Erdaepfuldatsche” in the Alsatian Franconian dialect. They’re all good with chunky warm applesauce.

    Cheers.

    • Hi Randall,
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. As I said, applesauce is the normal addition for potato pancakes in Germany. That sugarbeet molasses stauff is either a family tradion or a local one from the lower Rhineland area, which is a sugarbeet area.
      Take care,
      Pit

  3. Wie lange hab ich schon keine selbstgemachten mehr gegessen..die sehen sowas von lecker aus :D

  4. They look delicious!! Now I think I have to make some sometimes soon :)

    • Hi Sabrina,
      Yep, you’ll certainly have to make some soon – even if – as you once remarked – your kitchen will look like after a tornado. ;)
      Take care,
      Pit

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

