Gallery

Reuben Sandwich

I had never known that before I came to the US and I had my first one in Muenster/TX at the occasion of the Germanfest there, but I really like that: layered meat [preferable corned beef], Swiss cheese and sauerkraut, grilled between slices of Rye bread.

Tonight I had one here, and enjoyed it a lot. I went to one of the local eateries, Polak’s Sawsage [sic] Farm, and got the to “fix” – as the Texans say – me a Reuben sandwich there. Btw, being in Texas, it came between slices of Texas toast. And in addition to the sandwich I got pinto beans and coleslaw, and thus had a very yummy dinner. Oh, btw, this Reuben Sandwich wasn’t made with Corned Beef, but with Pastrami – and I liked that a lot. Washed the food down with two cans of “Tecate“.

8 responses to “Reuben Sandwich

  1. Pingback: Rippin’ Good Reuben Sandwich | What's On the Stove?

  2. Just finished my own Reuben sandwich with blue cheese. Been differen reuben sandwich and really enjoyed every moment. Can’t wait to try the others.

  3. That’s one of the foods here I still haven’t tried. For some reason Sauerkraut on bread doesn’t sound that appealing to me. It probably doesn’t help that I’m not a fan of corned beef either :)

    • Hi Sabrina,
      sauerkraut on bread: I found that strange, too, when I first heard about what makes a Reuben sandwich. But when trying, I really enjoyed it. And as to corned beef: on the one hand I like it and on the other hand, the Reuben sandwich I got here had Pastrami. Anyway: I’m definitely going to have it again.
      Best regards from southern Texas,
      Pit

  4. Hi Robin,
    Thanks for your comment.
    As to Pumpernickel: I think that’s definitely a possibility – with “American” Pumpernickel, that is, which is absolutely different from what I used to know as Pumpernickel in Germany.
    As to Miracle Whip: as much as I like it, I wouldn’t want it on a Reuben.
    Regards,
    Pit

  5. Around here (part of Wisconsin with some German heritage), restaurants I’ve been to make Reubens with pumpernickel or marble rye, corned beef, Swiss cheese, sauerkraut, and Thousand Islands dressing. My own family substitutes Miracle Whip — some people may find that gross, but it’s what I grew up with so I like it. :) I recently made Reubens with pastrami instead of corned beef and it was good too.

  6. Hi Randall,
    As to the dressing, I’ll have to find out the next time I have one, which kind Polak’s use. But whatever it was, I really enjoyed the Reuben’s. Btw, I think they didn’t make it with corned beef but with Pastrami.
    Take care,
    Pit

  7. A good Reuben needs to be dressed with Thousand Island Dressing. I make ours with blue sauerkraut and my family loves them.

    Cheers.

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

