Gallery

New Running-Shoes

Last Thursday we were in San Antonio, among other things to buy new shoes, and I got myself two pairs of new running-shoes [at Academy Sports, where we like to shop for clothing, btw]. Well, as to “running-shoes”: both of them are called “training-shoes” and they are  not both meant for running – at least one pair which is mainly black in colour. That pair is more or less meant for everyday informal use. Only the other pair – with a lot of yellow – is really meant for running – well, walking and jogging, actually.

But what I really wanted to post about here – and buying shoes is only the occasion – is the fact that, to my mind, everyday items, especially clothing, are cheaper here in the US than they are in Germany. Take the shoes: they were brand-name shoes [Saucony], and I got them for $69.99 a pair. And I also tried on a pair of Salomons, which were $39.99 only. But they were not as comfy as the Sauconys by far. I must admit that I haven’t shopped for shoes in Germany for quite a while, but I don’t think I could have got brand-name running shoes at that low a price there. My last pair of Salomons cost me more in Germany than the Sauconys here.

I was also looking for new pants, and I think the same holds true there. Brand-name jeans [e.g. Levi's] were to be had for around $35, and less well-known brands for around $15. Again: even if – like with shoes – I haven’t bought jeans in Germany for a long time, I don’t think I could have bought them at that low a price.

Um diesen Eintrag in Deutsch zu lesen, hier klicken.

I'd really love to hear from y'alls!

